Cricket News

T20 Cricket World Cup Winners

by: Furqan


The International championship match of Twenty20 International cricket is known as ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The International cricket council (ICC), is known as the governing body of cricket. It comprises a total of 17 teams, the teams selected through the T20 World Cup Qualifier. All the rules are the same as one-day International matches and thus known as T20 International.

The T20 world cup is mainly organized by maintaining a 2 years gap. The first edition of the game was started in 2007 and the second edition was about to be held in 2020, but due to COVID-19, the match was shifted from 2020 to 2021. The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is decided to be hosted by India. After the edition of T20 organized in 2016, the other tournament was decided to be held in 2018 and would be hosted by South Africa. And the 2020 edition to be held in Australia, as per the decided schedule. 

From the very start of the T20 world cup, there were a total of six tournaments that have been organized so far. West Indies, holds the current winners’ title and has also won this tournament multiple times. In 2007, the T20 world cup was held in South Africa, and the trophy of the winner was won by India. In 2009 the match was held in England, Pakistan won the match by defeating Sri Lanka. The third edition of the ICC men’s T20 world cup, which was held in 2010, was won by West Indies. 

T20 Cricket World Cup Winners

The T20 world cup was the most cheerful day for the Indian cricket fans when India won the T20 series under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. 

On 13 June 2003, the official match of T20 was played, the game was between the English countries. Then the first season of the T20 world got successful in the year 2009. And in 2007 when India won the series. 

West Indies has been holding the title of ICC T20 men’s world cup, several times since 2010. In the present time, still, west indies hold the title of the tournament. 

This year the T20 tournament has been postponed but can be held in the month of October and November. The final match will be held on 14 November 2021, as per the information got after the meeting of the sports board. 

The match will be held with complete safety and will be held by fulfilling the whole procedures of the Sports Council and the safety guidelines. All the players will be tested before playing and as soon as they reach the place where the sport is to be held. 

Now, as the audience is allowed to the stadium, there will be more strict rules for the safety of the people in the audience and the players.